You actually deactivate it, and once you do that all your comments, likes, shares, post and everything associated with your profile disappears like it never existed. But your message conversation will still be visible on your friend’s inbox just there won’t be your profile picture and link to it.
Do my messages disappear when I deactivate Facebook?
Yes, you can still use Messenger, so it follows that your messages will appear after deactivating your account. In fact, when you press “Send,” as long as you have internet access, the message will go straight to the recipient’s inbox. However, if you delete Facebook, your previous messages will read “Facebook User”.
Will deactivating Facebook delete everything?
Deactivating your account does not fully delete it. When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden.
How do I permanently delete my Facebook messages on both sides?
Steps to Delete Facebook Messages From Both Sides
- On your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.
- Then select Remove.
- Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for.
- Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.
How long can I leave my Facebook account deactivated before it’s deleted?
Facebook Waits 14 Days Before Deleting Account
The social network said there is no limit on how long a user can keep her account deactivated. But if a Facebook user really wants to make the separation permanent, she can choose to delete the account altogether.
What happens when you temporarily deactivate Facebook?
When you temporarily deactivate your account: People won’t be able to see or go to your Facebook profile. Your photos, posts and videos won’t be deleted. You can still use Facebook Messenger.
What happens when you deactivate Messenger?
If you deactivate your Facebook Messenger, your profile won’t appear in its search results. However, your messages and comments will still be visible. So, if you deactivate Facebook and Messenger, what happens to messages? Well, all the messages you sent will still be visible to others.
How do I permanently delete archived messages on Facebook?
Archived conversations can be resumed at a later time
- Step 1: Tap and hold on the conversation you wish to archive or delete until a menu appears at the bottom of the screen.
- Step 2: Tap “Delete Conversation.”
- Step 3: Tap either “Delete Conversation” or “Archive Conversation,” depending on the action you wish to take.
Does deleting a conversation on Messenger delete it for the other person?
Yes. Your act of deleting the conversation on your end will not delete the conversation on the other person’s ends. If you were to delete your account, they could still see the conversation, but instead of your name, the other person would see you listed as a ‘facebook user’.
Is it better to delete or deactivate Facebook account?
Put simply, if you want to stop using Facebook for good, delete it. On the other hand, if you prefer taking a temporary social media detox, deactivate your account instead. After you deactivate your account, your friends and followers will only see your previously-sent messages.
Does Facebook reactivate itself after 7 days?
After the series of questions and the guilt-tripping, there’s now an additional section where you can choose to automatically reactivate your account after a period of time (between 1 to 28 days).
How do you know if someone deactivated Messenger?
If you see “This Content Isn’t Available Right Now” (or similar) instead of their profile, and their profile photo in Messenger was a gray placeholder icon, they haven’t blocked you—they’ve deactivated their account (or it was deleted by Facebook).